## **Past Winners**

World Championship Pack Burro Race

There are some noticeable omissions (on the burro's names) in the following lists. Should you know the names of the missing burros, please come by the Burro Booth during Burro Days and help us with the omissions.

## Year Runner Burro Time Route

(hr:min:sec)

- 1949 Melville Sutton Whitey 5:10:41.2 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1950 Dave Prather 4:43:21.3 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1951 Bill Copper Bosco 4:37:19.4 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1952 Jim Gearhart 4:17:05.3 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1953 Joe Taylor Geronimo 4:51:44.8 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1954 Tim Martin Red 4:17:47.3 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1955 Joe Glavinick BonBon 3:58:12.1 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1956 Walter Smith 3:40:47.3 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1957 Walter Smith 3:52:26.4 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1958 Walter Smith Rosita 3:52:40.1 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1959 Joe Glavinick BonBon 3:33:04.4 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1960 Charles Griffin 3:40:36.6 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1961 Charles Griffin 3:50:27.3 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1962 Joe Glavinick 3:39:19.8 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1963 Joe Glavinick 3:41:20.1 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1964 Joe Glavinick 3:18:16.3 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1965 Steve Mathews Cream Puff 3:03:23.1 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1966 Steve Mathews Cream Puff 3:13:37.3 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1967 Carl J. Lee Little Jack 3:46:21.2 Fairplay to Leadville
- 1968 Harold Bristol Slim 3:25:02.9 Leadville to Fairplay
- 1969 Harold Bristol 4:28:43.9 Breckenridge to Fairplay
- 1970 Joe Glavinick Ringo 3:36:57.5 Fairplay to Breckenridge
- 1971 Lee Courkamp Rusty 3:44:12.5 Breckenridge to Fairplay
- 1972 Steve Mathews Charlie Brown 2:50:46.5 Quartsville Route
- 1973 Joe Glavinick Ringo 4:29:07.3 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1974 Lee Courkamp Possum 4:14:52.2 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1975 Joe Glavinick Ringo 4:30:30.8 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1976 Joe Glavinick Ringo 4:29:59.5 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1977 Jon Sinclair Charlie Brown 4:17:17.2 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1978 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:21:59.5 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1979 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:08:59.9 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1980 Curtis Imrie Hayduke 4:06:17.2 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1981 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:22:58.9 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1982 Lee Courkamp Cracker Jack 4:16:53.5 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1983 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:09:33.1 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1984 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:04:58.0 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1985 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:04:17.0 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1986 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 3:55:08.8 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1987 Ardel Boes Billy Carter 4:04:36.4 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1988 Curtis Imrie Oscar 4:01:18.0 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1989 Tom Sobal Maynard 3:44:18.3 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1990 Tom Sobal Maynard 3:49:15.1 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1991 Tom Sobal Maynard 3:59:52.4 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1992 Tom Sobal Maynard 4:10:14.2 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1993 Tom Sobal Maynard 3:58:12.0 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1994 Tom Sobal Maynard 4:23:41.9 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1995 Tom Sobal Maynard 4:31:39.2 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1996 Curtis Imrie Oscar 4:28:00.0 Mosquito Pass and back

```
1997 Tom Sobal Taco Bell 4:47:38.1 Mosquito Pass and back
```

- 1998 Hal Walter Spike 4:42:23.2 Mosquito Pass and back
- 1999 Rob Pedretti Zapata 4:50:13 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2000 Hal Walter Spike 4:42:43 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2001 Tom Sobal Bullwinkle 4:34:48 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2002 Tom Sobal Bullwinkle 4:43:09 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2003 Hal Walter Spike 5:16:18 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2004 Hal Walter Spike 5:39:08 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2005 Hal Walter Laredo 5:37:41 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2006 Tom Sobal Mordecai 5:25:49 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2007 Hal Walter Loredo 5:44:29 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2008 Bobby Lewis Wellstone 5:47:39 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2009 Bobby Lewis Wellstone 5:33:42 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2010 Bobby Lewis Wellstone 5:56:23 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2011 Karen Thorpe Kokomo 5:41:50 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2012 George Zack Jack 5:25:28 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2013 Hal Walter Boogie 5:25:23 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2014 George Zack Jack 6:12:07 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2015 George Zack Jack 5:23:34 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2016 Kirt Courkamp Mary Margaret 5:41:08 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2017 Kirt Courkamp Mary Margaret 5:28:54 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2018 Kirt Courkamp Mary Margaret 6:06:38 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2019 Marvin Sandoval Buttercup 4:58:07 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2020 Marvin Sandoval Buttercup 7:07:14 Altered Course to Mosquito Pass and back
- 2021 Bob Sweeney Yukon 5:57:29 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2022 Marvin Sandoval Buttercup 5:43:15 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2023 Marvin Sandoval Buttercup 5:26:11 Mosquito Pass and back
- 2024 Marvin Sandoval Buttercup 5:49:41 Mosquito Pass and back

## **Past Winners Short Course**

- 2001 Dave TenEyck Dakota 2:09:36
- 2002 Mary Walter Clyde 2:04:54
- 2003 Paul Brett Cochise 2:09:14
- 2004 Curtis Imrie Maasai
- 2005 Dave TenEvck Peckinpau 2:38:04
- 2006 Steve Kuehster Finnegan 2:25:49
- 2007 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:06:41
- 2008 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:15:25
- 2009 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:09:53
- 2010 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:11:01
- TIED Steve Kuester Finnegan 2:11:01
- 2011 Barb Dolan Chuggs 2:09:47
- 2012 Karen Thorpe Kokomo 2:09:28
- 2013 Rick Pedretti Dakota 2:11:23
- 2014 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:15:18
- 2015 Matt Halk Mary Margaret 2:21:34
- 2016 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:13:03
- 2017 John Vincent Crazy Horse 2:06:42
- 2018 John Vincent Crazv Horse 2:13:17
- 2019 Danny Pedretti Call 2:11:19
- 2020 HW Jack Burns Full Tilt Boogie 2:01:16 (altered course)
- 2021 Brian Rawlings Luck 2:29:22
- 2022 RJ Fogel Ozzy 2:21:44
- 2023 Aidan Malherbe Ben 2:24:03
- 2024 Jeremiah Swartzlender Rocky 2:21:26